Standards

How can one create standards and expect others to adhere to similar standards? The root of this problem is defining what causes people to create these standards in the first place. In my experience, I have found that one’s previous experience combine to create this judgment of this item. If this judgement continues while the person is accurate in his judgment, we would find that this collective judgment would become a standard for that person. With enough standards in the region, we are able to create a collective criteria for such an event. In that case, how can one break their own criteria? Say for instance, I have a standard of being in bed by 11 in order to have enough sleep for the next day. If I am forced to break such a rule due to events out of my control, I would, and if the result seems favorable to me, my standards would be changed. However, what if while the standard I set for myself had changed, while the standard I have set for others have not? By this definition, we are hypothesizing of the case where I find it is still better to sleep at 9, but I personally believe it to not be possible. If others see me breaking such a standard, they would find it okay for themselves to break a similar standard, creating a problem throughout.

All in all, I was pretty frustrated with the work ethic of one of my friends. Not only so, but the way that he denied such a problem really got on my nerves. However, in retrospect, it wasn’t very nice of me either to become me at him. After all, most others exhibit similar behavior. However, that poses the question: does the fact that everyone else is doing it justify the act? Could we really attribute duh acts to “being human”, or are we only human because of such acts?

Leave a Reply

