Summer Reflections

Even if I haven’t learned anything this summer, there is one valuable skill that I am so happy to have come into contact with. Something that others seem to be so natural at, and something that I have had to work on.

I’ve begun to learn how to actually interact with people!

Yes, go ahead. Laugh at me, smirk at my incompetence. I’m not going to go on a huge spiel here, but as a child, I didn’t really … talk to people? I was that bookworm, that slightly weird kid in the corner. I spent my time reading or practicing, not playing or *shudder* exercising. Even in the later days of middle school, where friendships actually begin to blossom, I didn’t have that easy connection with others.

It might be something a lot more common than I think, but it was just so hard to talk to other people. Conversations had awkward beginnings, awkward endings, and you can bet your hat that there were lots of awkward pauses in between. I didn’t approach others without a question and half a conversation mapped out in my mind.

But lately, I’ve been learning how to be human again. Slowly learning how to just banter and talk with no purpose at all, just to become someone who doesn’t get on other people’s nerves. Like a reluctant turtle poking his head out of his shell, I am exploring.

What perhaps is most amazing is that there are tons of people out there also as awkward as I am! Such a great discovery, something I wish I really found out earlier. It is great to just go out there and mess up, screw up or do whatever. It is what I learned this summer. And oh, I am so glad that I did.

Leave a Reply

