NaBloPoMo: Commence!

NaBloPoMo November 2013

What is this odd acronym of fun sounding syllables, you ask? NaBloPoMo, or that National Blog Posting Month, was created as an alternative to the better known NaNoWriMo, the Herculean task of creating a novel in a month. NaBlo is considerably more relaxed.

But is it really the best adventure to undertake at this time?

I really don’t have an answer to that, and there is such a high likelihood of future me kicking me right now at this completely unnecessary, utterly pointless self-rewarding task that I’m about to undertake. There is no payoff, there aren’t real tangible benefits, and it is going to cost me quite a bit of time, a currency that I am already greatly in debt with. Why would a sane person even think about doing this?

To clarify: I probably lost my sanity while searching for an Extended Essay topic months ago, so no help there. But in all seriousness, I believe that the best things in life can come out of things we don’t expect at all. It’s when we take those pointless risks or when we peek into the dark alleyways or when we try something that we were so certain we would hate. Lots of times, we follow a pretty careful script while rummaging around in our lives. It’s time to do something more spontaneous!

I remember when doing the Hunt the Wumpus competition in Freshmen year, the one quote that stuck out to me was: “Put your all into it. You’ll either get a great product, or a really great story about it.”

So will you join me in making a month to remember?

Leave a Reply

